How to correctly install "fftw" library on Windows

Hi there,

I am new to this forum and hope I chose the correct section for this topic.

I am also completely new to C++ and try to get some exemplary codes running to solve the Schrödinger equation with an operator splitting method (e.g. https://www.algorithm-archive.org/contents/split-operator_method/split-operator_method.html).
I use the MinGW g++ compiler and VS Code as an editor. What I need to do to get the script running is to install the "fftw" library from "http://www.fftw.org/install/windows.html". However I have no clue how to properly install a library containing DLL files in MinGW.

If I write #include "fftw3.h" and copy the file "fftw3.h" (together with all others from the .zip file) into the same directory,I get the following error output from VS Code when trying to compile the script:

[Operator Split Example.cpp 2021-01-30 17:37:32.434]
,,Operator Split Example.cpp: In function 'void split_op(Params&, Operators&)':
Operator Split Example.cpp:145:31: warning: comparison of integer expressions of different signedness: 'int' and 'size_t' {aka 'long long unsigned int'} [-Wsign-compare]
for (int i = 0; i < opr.size; ++i) {
~~^~~~~~~~~~
C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\Temp\cc30uFbn.o:Operator Split Example.cpp:(.text+0x185): undefined reference to `__imp_fftw_plan_dft_1d'
C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\Temp\cc30uFbn.o:Operator Split Example.cpp:(.text+0x1a6): undefined reference to `__imp_fftw_execute'
C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\Temp\cc30uFbn.o:Operator Split Example.cpp:(.text+0x1b9): undefined reference to `__imp_fftw_destroy_plan'
collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status

I also tried to run another similar C++ script based on fftw from "https://github.com/alexschu98/SplitOperator", which produces essentially the same error output. Hence I suspect an error with the library inclusion.