• Forum
  • Lounge
  • Questions for graduates and current stud

Questions for graduates and current students (or everyone)

Pages: 12
Hi,

So, my college experience with comp sci, thus far, has been pretty useless. Really, all I can say for it is that it has forced me to learn how to code instead of relying off personal motivation. I've been taught absolutely nothing.

Now, I know being self-taught is common and that's fine and dandy. But I'm not cleaning toilets to waive most of my tuition to learn from myself and message boards. I want to be friggin' taught. The only thing I'll get from college is a piece of paper really, and since companies are moving away from even asking for a degree, I'm starting to think I should just drop out.

Anyways, that was just a little complaint I got carried away with. The question is this:

Does anyone have (had) a comp sci education from a university where they were actually taught from the professors (instead of just an authority figure who assigns homework) or is this self-taught method of curriculum just simply the way of comp sci?
since companies are moving away from even asking for a degree
Where are you getting this data from? (Not saying you're wrong, I'm just not in the loop on this. From what I understood, you're going to want a degree just to get your foot in the door.)

Professors can teach basic programming, but really the only way to get good at it is to practice it yourself, learning from mistakes. And googling things. Lots of things. As far as the broader area of "computer science", I can't say much cuz I don't have a CompSci degree. I think having an instructor for some specific parts, e.g. learning about operator systems, can be helpful.
Last edited on
Do you have the list of courses?