#ifndef include guard help!

Hello. I am new to using #ifndef, #ifdef, #endif and such. I
put the following at the top of my header file:
#ifndef INCLUDE_H
#define INCLUDE_H 

And an #endif at the end of the file. Yet I get a compile-time
error that says there's multiple definitions of all the functions
in the file. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?
Thanks in advance.

EDIT: The cause for this is, I think, that there are two .cpp files in my project (forgot to say)

EDIT: Not sure what inline means, but it made my code work. Thanks!
Last edited on
My guess is that you're defining non-inline functions inside of your header file, which is #included into at least two different compilation units. But without seeing the code, it's just a guess.

I suggest making a separate, minimal example that still reproduces the issue. In doing so, you may find where the issue is yourself.
http://www.sscce.org/
Post removed by author
Last edited on
Here is a code I made.
Same compile-time error.

header.h:
#ifndef HEADER_H
#define HEADER_H

#include <iostream>
#include <windows.h> // For Sleep() function
using namespace std;

void Say(string x)
{
	for(int i; x[i] != '\0'; i++)
	{
		Sleep(100);
		cout << x[i];
	}
}

#endif 

main.cpp:
#include "header.h"

int main()
{
	void func1(void);
	func1();
}

other.cpp:
#include "header.h"

void func1(void)
{
	Say("Hello world!");
}

Can you spot the problem? I can't.
Last edited on
Yes, I happened to guess correctly; your issue is that you are defining a non-inline function (Say) inside of your header file, which is #included into two different compilation units (other.cpp and main.cpp).

You should either add the inline keyword to your function definition, or only declare the function in the header file, and implement (define) it in either main.cpp or other.cpp.

e.g.

header.h
#ifndef HEADER_H
#define HEADER_H

#include <string>

// declaration (used by multiple files)
void Say(string x);

#endif 

other.cpp
#include "header.h"