log N time complexity of a graph

( Graph / Union find)

Hi guys,

I'm studying a course on algorithms,

the proposition is prove that any node x's depth is at most log(base 2) N

let's take the following tree

/|\  \   // tree starting with root 8 is merged with 
     2 3 5  \  // tree with root 1 so t1(root 8) = 5 items + t2(root 1) =               
    /  | |   \  // 7 items = 7 + 5 = 12 items
      / / \   \
     4 6  7    8
              /| \
             9 10 11
                    \ 

sorry if my diagram isn't the best, 1's children are 2,3,5 and 8 etc etc.

this quote is taken from a mentor on the coursera help section of the course this is how he explains it

For a moment, let us step aside from UnionFind concept. Imagine you had a total of N=16 items. How many times can we halve these items until we reach a single item ?

1 : 16 / 2 = 8
2 : 8 / 2 = 4
3 : 4 / 2 = 2
4 : 2 / 2 = 1

From the abstract above, we see that we can halve these 16 items exactly 4 times, or the lg 16 = 4. This is the very definition of logarithm with base 2.

In video materials, reverse argument is applied. How many times can we double items, starting from 1, until we reach N. As shown, we can only do this lgN times.

Ok so now let us go back to our tree, our tree has 12 items altogether, but when we merge tree 1 with tree 2 we know for an indisputable fact that tree 2 must be the same size or bigger than tree 1, so since tree 1 has 5 items tree 2 must have at least 10 items so N = 10.

ok so now we know N = 10, so according to this

In video materials, reverse argument is applied. How many times can we double items, starting from 1, until we reach N. As shown, we can only do this lgN times.

we can do the following

1 : 1 * 2 = 2
2 : 2 * 2 = 4
3 : 4 * 2 = 8
4 : 8 * 2 = 16

but can you see the problem, 16 is > than N (10), so what do we do? we clearly can't keep doubling until we hit 10 because if we keep doubling we will never hit 10, the closest number we get to 10 is 8.