error: cannot convert 'LPCWSTR' {aka 'const wchar_t*'} to 'LPCSTR' {aka 'const char*'}

closed account (GTXEhUp4)
hello i am trying to do an file finder but i took this error i am new in c++ how could i fix this problem thanks

#include<iostream>
#include<Windows.h>
using namespace std;
int main(){

//Local variable
    WIN32_FIND_DATA FindFileData;
    HANDLE hFindFile;
    LPCWSTR file = L"C:\\Users\\BATUHAN\\Desktop\\*";
    //STEP-1 FindFirst File Function

hFindFile = FindFirstFile(
        file, 
        &FindFileData);
    if(INVALID_HANDLE_VALUE == hFindFile){
        cout << "Error in Finding File" <<endl;
        cout << "Error - " << GetLastError() << endl;
    }
    else{
        cout << "File Found" << endl;
        wcout << "File Name : " <<FindFileData.cFileName << endl;
        wcout << "File Size : " <<FindFileData.nFileSizeLow << endl;
    }

//STEP-2 FindNextFile Function
    while(FindNextFile(hFindFile, &FindFileData)){
        wcout << "File Name : " <<FindFileData.cFileName << endl;
    }
    //STEP-3 File Close Function
    FindClose(hFindFile);

system("PAUSE");
}
The trouble is on Line 9: LPCWSTR replace with LPCSTR if you are OK with ASCII text.

That or use the wide versions of the other functions, for example see -> https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/win32/api/fileapi/nf-fileapi-findfirstfilew see the W at the end of the function?
Last edited on
Using the standard filesystem library:

#include <iostream>
#include <filesystem>
#include <string>
#include <vector>

std::vector<std::string> files_in_directory( const std::string& path_to_dir ) {

std::vector<std::string> file_names ;

for( const auto& entry : std::filesystem::directory_iterator(path_to_dir) )
        file_names.push_back( entry.path().string() ) ;

return file_names ;
}

int main(){

const std::string path_to_dir = "/dev" ;
    for( const std::string& file_name : files_in_directory(path_to_dir) ) std::cout << file_name << '\n' ;
}