In a bit of an academic pickle here...

I need to pick up C++ to fulfill one of my dreams: to write the game I've been designing for 5 years now... I think it's going to be a great game and anyway, I want to do a professional job :)

While looking at the best books to get started, I found C++ Primer (S. B. Lippman) but saw that it is only up to C++11...

I figure, if I am going to learn C++, I might as well get started on C++20, right?

* Should I buy this book and then buy the 6'th ed (expected Oct2021) and refresh?

* Or, should I buy a more up-to-date book. My requirements:
- Goes through major C++ topics
- Provides insight on algorithms, design patterns and generally efficient code that runs great and is easy to contain in the super-code that manages it
- Provides thought-provoking (shall I say "Difficult"?) questions AND answers
- Teaches C++ as "C++", not "C-with-extras"
- Fundamentally concerned with C++20, or at least explains the updates to the standard in a structured way
- Isn't too cheesy. I am not a child, I don't need comics every 5 pages
Last edited on
I would be a bit careful aboiut C++20.
Though it's the new standard it's not fully supported by the compilers.
One book I like is "Professional C++" by Marc Gregoire 4th ed. It covers C++17.
C++20 is cool and all, and has some interesting features, but I doubt there are many well-vetted books that cover it well yet, and to be frank, you don't need most of it, especially as a beginner. I assume the upcoming edition of the book would cover more of the latest features, but again I'm not convinced it's necessary for you.

The question which isn't clear from your post, is: Are you new to programming in its entirety, or are you just new to C++?