Math problem

I just started learning C++ and I have to solve this problem: Let be x an integer variable. For what values of x does the expression x+7==8*x take the value 1.
Thank you
Hello taniam,

For what values of x does the expression x+7==8*x take the value 1.

Are you sure this is correct? It seems to me that the statement answers its self.

Once "x" becomes 2 or larger the rhs will always be greater then the lhs. The program I wrote tends to support this.

Post the code that you have so everyone can see what you have done.

Andy
All x values differ then 1, makes the following expression
( x+7==8*x ) false, otherwise is true.

See this code:
   for( int x {-5} ; x<5 ; ++x )
   {
      std::cout << "for x equals " << x << " expression ( x+7==8*x ) is ";
      std::cout << std::boolalpha << ( x+7==8*x ) << endl;
   }

in c++ the keyword true is 1 and the keyword false is zero.
In reverse, though, it opens up: anything that can be evaluated to zero is false, *else* it is true, so 7 is true, 'x' is true, 0.0 is false.

so your expression evaluates to true (1) when both sides are equal. Solving it, you see that
when x is 1, the expression is true: 1+7 is = to 8*1

that leaves me unsure of what the teacher wants. 1 is the answer to the equation/math part AND the result of the boolean expression. To clarify that, lets look at this one:

F == (F - 32) * 5/9

here, it turns out that -40 gives a result of (true) which is (1). -40 is the math part, and (1) or (true) is the boolean portion. (extra credit if you know why this specific equation is "cool").
We are learning about C++ operators and I have two problems to solve:
-1.The first one, what I posted, I can't understand why its written ”values of X” and not value of X.
2.In the second one, the requirements of the problem are the same, only the expression differs: 2*x+3==6 (I have to find x values for which this expression gives 1)

Last edited on