trying to define a friend function which add two matrix

Hello there!
i am a beginner user of c++
i am trying to write a code which get two different matrix and add them together
i dont know why the output of the friend function in my code dont work
it print "Process returned -1073741819 (0xC0000005)"
another thing
how can i use overloading function in my code
[/#include<iostream>

using namespace std;

class matrix{
private:

int i,j;
int **p;

public:
int M,N;
matrix(){
p;
}
matrix(int M,int N):M(M),N(N){
p = new int *[M];
for (i=0;i<M;i++)
p[i] = new int [N];
}
void alloc (int i,int j, int a){
p[i][j] = a;
}
int read(int i,int j){
return p[i][j];
}
void setdata(int a){
for (i=0;i<M;i++){
for (j=0;j<N;j++){
p[i][j]= a;
}
}
}
void print(){
for (i=0;i<M;i++){
for (j=0;j<N;j++){
cout << p[i][j]<< " ";
}
cout<<endl;
}

}
~matrix(){
for (i=0;i<M;i++){
delete [] p[i];
}
delete [] p;
}
friend matrix sum(matrix &u,matrix &v);

};

int main(){
int M = 6;
int N = 6;
int a;
matrix p(M,N),q(M,N),p3(M,N),p4(M,N);
/*cout<< "enter value =";
cin>>a;

p.setdata(a);
q.setdata(2*a);
p.print();
cout<<endl;
q.print();
cout<<endl;
*/
for (int i=0;i<M;i++){
for (int j=0;j<N;j++){
p3.alloc(i,j,i+j);
}
}
p3.print();
cout<<endl;
p4 = sum(p3,p3);
p4.print();

}

matrix sum(matrix &u,matrix &v){
matrix w;
int M;
int N;
for (int i=0;i<M;i++){
for (int j=0;j<N;j++){
w.alloc(i,j,u.read(i,j) + v.read(i,j));
}
}
return w;
}

]
Last edited on
initialise your variables
where should i do that?
When you create them. That's what initialise means.
Last edited on
i didnt understand i create them
You are defining redundant Ms and Ns, and this is confusing you.

Your class already has M and N variables. So if you have an object of type matrix, then my_matrix.M and my_matrix.N exist.
int M;
int N;
for (int i=0;i<M;i++){
for (int j=0;j<N;j++){

M and N here are just local variables. They do NOT contain valid values, because you haven't given any value to them. Perhaps you want u.M or v.M.
Last edited on