Linking External Libraries in C/C++

Hey guys I'm a noob with C/C++ and as I've been learning the language I struggle with the process of compiling C/C++ code that is dependent on external libraries. I've been using the language for a while but only the extend of the standard library. The process is much different from in C than it is in languages like Python where there is a package manager for you to install external modules.
How could I go about compiling code that uses external libraries with gcc and g++?
Note I am on a Mac and I could use Xcode but I wanted to learn the proper way of completing this task. Thank you for your help!
Start with

int main(){}

Then type
g++ -v foo.cpp

What you'll see (with lots of other stuff omitted) will be something along the lines of

<<snipped>>
#include "..." search starts here:
#include <...> search starts here:
 /usr/include/c++/5
 /usr/include/x86_64-linux-gnu/c++/5
 /usr/include/c++/5/backward
 /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-linux-gnu/5/include
 /usr/local/include
 /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-linux-gnu/5/include-fixed
 /usr/include/x86_64-linux-gnu
 /usr/include
End of search list.
<<snipped>>
-L/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-linux-gnu/5
-L/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-linux-gnu/5/../../../x86_64-linux-gnu
-L/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-linux-gnu/5/../../../../lib
-L/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu
-L/lib/../lib
-L/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu
-L/usr/lib/../lib
-L/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-linux-gnu/5/../../..
-lstdc++
-lm
-lgcc_s
-lgcc
-lc
-lgcc_s
-lgcc

The -L paths are where the compiler looks for libraries
The -lfoo are the shortened library filenames (would actually be called libfoo.a or libfoo.so)

.a libraries are statically linked libraries and .so are dynamically linked libraries.

So when you say #include <iostream>, the directories listed under "#include <...> search starts here" are where the compiler looks.

When you install (or compile for yourself) a 3rd party library, you need to figure out 4 things from the documentation.